Not Giving UP Week 5 #IMMOOC

I’m not one to quit.   Here are my reflections for Week 5 of the #IMMOOC .  They are a little late, but the time I spent reflecting and thinking is helping me to grow and move forward to new and better!   I was brave, did something tough and joined the Voxer group for the book study but then didn’t have time to listen and really become engaged in the tool as a way to collaborate and share.  I will definitely be revisiting Voxer as a tool in the future.  
I don’t think that measuring the impact of innovative practices is something that can be easily measured.  There are so many variables involved and many of the effects may not be seen immediately, in a year or even for decades.   I think we need to start looking at successes of our students later in life as well as in the present moment to really see if the risks we take have a lasting effect on the students that we spend so much time with.The greatest takeaways for me are that change is slow.  I’ve come to realize that I work on a much quicker timescale than most and need to really work harder on meeting people where they are.  As I have stepped into several leadership roles in my building I have to do a better job of being a mentor and coach.

I am working towards some google educator certifications that are helping me develop some new skills for being a better leader/mentor/coach.I’ve begun the Google Trainer Course after finishing the Google Certified Educator Level 2 google educator training and have found that the units are providing many tangible and useful strategies in helping me become a better leader, mentor, and coach.  I will continue to access this resource as to move forward.   The resource is free to educators that have Google apps for education and for me has been invaluable training that I have been able to do on my own time!  I will be taking the Level 2 test soon!

I believe that I can work with my colleagues that are also participating in the digital innovations pathways program to start to ask some important questions about how our students are using the one to one resource that the district has provided them.  How are we creating an independent self-guided and motivated students?   How might it look different at different grade levels?  What standards do we believe that students need to be proficient in before moving on to high school?  Which standards do we focus on?

I am going to work hard to continue to reflect using this blog as often as I can.  I really need to create a space and time to reflect regularly so that I am keeping my thoughts organized and making sure to move forward to new and better.  I also hope to create a google +, blog or some kind of way for our building to share great ideas.

As I reflect on what this book means to me its that I really do have to be brave and continue to work towards and fight for what I believe is best for learners, all ages of learners.  Even if it means that it starts with my classroom and begins to trickle out into the spaces that surround me and inspires others to take risks to create unique and exciting learning environments for all learners!    I will continue to ask hard questions and move forward.  I will not give up.

Leave a Reply

