Moving forward… Week 3 #IMMOOC

 

 

In order to support innovation in my building, I am doing my best to model new and better by taking risks and trying things that will allow for more learning in my content area!  I believe that I need to show what it looks like to “do” education differently and then others who are interested in following down the same path will inquire about the changes they are seeing me make and ask how they to can use those same strategies in their learning spaces.  I have found that people are in fact taking notice and asking, “How did you do that?”  I am still hearing from staff members, “You are so creative, I could never do that.” and I respond, “This doesn’t come naturally without hard work.  I am constantly reading and collaborating in order to create the experiences that my students are talking about in the classroom.”   We have begun to do demo slams at our monthly staff meetings which consist of about a three-minute quick demonstration of a best practice.  Resources are linked to a shared space where others can use them to do similar things in their classrooms.

When I look at the school vs. learning image I feel proud that I have taken the step to create a student-centered environment in my classroom with all of those characteristics.  I’ve changed the structure of my classroom experience for students and we are all learning alongside each other!

It has been a challenging and exciting start to the year and I am excited to see what my students are capable of as we feed each other forward!

As far as reflections from last week’s questions to consider in my classroom.

What does a class meeting lo0k like?

We had our first class meeting in each of the 6 sections of science 8 that I teach and it went well!  Students were brave and had an opportunity to share a personal thing about themselves that we may not know.  We also discussed intelligence and the idea of a growth mindset!

How can I have students create something authentic using the content from the dairy?

Students created a product that had to show their proficiency for showing the difference between physical and chemical changes occurring at the dairy!  I am currently looking over student work and am excited to see what the results are!  The intention is to put them up on our youtube channel as well as tweet out some of the exemplars on twitter!  The idea of having their work seen by the world really did inspire students to produce a product they are proud of!

The questions that I am thinking about this week as I move forward are:

How do I continue to build on the mystery of using Scooby Doo in the law of conservation of mass?  What fun spin or twist can be added to the lab work we are going to do?

What tweaks do I want to put on the astronomy unit I teach?  Do I want to gamify it and how does that look?  How will I prepare students for their “telescope time” at the local university observatory?

SO FUN!!!!!

 

One thought on “Moving forward… Week 3 #IMMOOC

  1. Keep taking risks! It sounds like you are on the right track in your quest to innovate. As your successes become known the pocket of innovation you’re creating will expand to more of your school. Keep sharing as you push yourself & others!

    Like

Leave a Reply

